HOME PRODUCTS FORUM RESOURCES KIT COMPARISON FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
GALLERY HISTORY VO THEORY SYSTEM MEDIA CONTACT  

Go Back   Forums > Vegetable Oil Forum > Fuel mixing / Fuel Blending
Register User's Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-14-2008, 08:04 AM

Default 03 common rail(any other wvo blenders 25%)

i am new to this forum and would like to know if anybody esle is running 25%wvo in a 3rd gen cummins? my mix is 4 gal wvo,1/2 gal rug,1/3 bottle power service,and 1oz 2-stroke oil to gal(1 quart per tank 35gal),with 30 gal #2 diesel. i have been doing this for about 5 months. i drive a lot 200-300 miles a day, at least 4 days a week. i have had no issues with this mix. i change fuel filter and engine oil at 10,000 miles, and carry a fuel filter behind my seat(never had to use it yet). i park in heated shop or plug in if outside. this summer i would like to run maby 50% wvo. any ideas???
Old 12-14-2008, 11:39 AM
Administrator

Smile

Welcome to the forum.

Your post should have been in the "Mix it up" section which relates to fuel mixing or blending.

While I am sure that you have had a promising experience with your blend, I would highly advise that you get an engine oil analysis done ASAP and follow it up with another in 3000 miles. I think that you will find that you are rapidly accelerating the wear of your engine. There were many studies done on mixing up until about 1982 when federal research funding into alternative fuels was cut, all without exception showed that mixing any more then 15% VO with diesel rapidly accelerated engine wear. To my knowledge no studies were done below 15% as any financial gain was seen to be far outweighed by the risk involved. You appear to be mixing at about 15%.